

ANNUAL RECOGNITION CEREMONY

McGregor Conference Center September 15, 2016 5:30-8:00 p.m.



SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

ISABEL JAMES BATH ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP
Catherine Ash

ROSEMARY BENEDETTI ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP Kelly Boston

BOOKSTOCK SCHOLARSHIP Emily Thomson

Dean's Merit Scholarship Autumn Diaz

Diversity Recruitment Scholarship Sequoria Lewis Zandria Robins Audrey Swartz

Sallie Ellison Memorial Endowed Scholarship Sheila Garcia

> Judith J. Field Scholarship Drew Damron Devin Hodgson Jessica R. Holmes Mark Suhovecky

GLORIA A. FRANCIS MEMORIAL ENDOWED
SCHOLARSHIP
Michelle David

Graduate Professional Scholarship
Nathaniel Arndts
Kimberly Auger
Emily Blakowski
Maeve Devlin
Laura Doutsas
Mattie Dugan
Amber Farrell
Katharyn Jones
Joyce Krom
Michael Maahs
Karen Magee
Holly Overton
Mark Prindiville

Margaret Hayes Grazier Endowed Scholarship Martha Mason

Crystal Thomas

Laura Walsh

PAULETTE E. GROEN ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP Wesleyann Johnson MIRIAM T. LARSON MEMORIAL ENDOWED
SCHOLARSHIP
Elena Camp

LIBRARY AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
GENERAL SCHOLARSHIP
Monica Ponzini
Emily Tobin

Library Workforce Development Scholarship
Christine Rose Allen
Nicholas Badgley
Emily Cummings
Kimberly Feltner
Sheila Garcia
Kathryn McKinney
Lucia Modestino
Kelsey Napier
Brittany Nuland
Holly Osentoski
Chelsea Paige
Damien Rostar

Margery A. Long Scholarship for Archival Administration Abiola Akinpelu

Kaitlin Tang

Jennifer Vander Heide

METROPOLITAN DETROIT MEDICAL LIBRARY GROUP SCHOLARSHIP Crystal Thomas

Joseph J. Mika and Marianne Hartzell-Mika Endowed Scholarship Kimberly Feltner

> ROGER S. AND MURIEL A. PEPPER ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP Emily Reitzel

EDITH B. PHILLIPS ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP

Jasmine Moser

Daniel Story

DIANE M. ROCKALL ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP
Jenna Patnott

CLARA LULIS RUSSELL MEMORIAL ENDOWED
SCHOLARSHIP
Margaret-Melissa Lenox

ROBERT L. SHERWOOD ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP
Brittany Nuland

ROGRAM

ANNUAL RECOGNITION CEREMONY

McGregor Conference Center September 15, 2016 5:30-8:00 p.m.

> Welcome Sandra Yee

Faculty and Staff Introductions
Stephen Bajjaly

State of the School Stephen Bajjaly

Donor Recognition Sandra Yee

Scholarship RecipientsBin Li and Dian Walster

Student Officer Recognition
Deborah Charbonneau and
Xiangmin Zhang

Patricia B. Knapp Award Gordon Neavill

Distinguished Alumni Award
Peter Hook

Professional Service Award Kafi Kumasi

Closing Remarks
Stephen Bajjaly

LOTHAR SPANG MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Katarina Quain Heather Rochon

> PETER AND JANE SPYERS-DURAN ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP Ryan Tackabury

Student Writing Award, Bibliographic Visually Impaired Searchers: Information Seeking and Technology Rochelle La Macchio

Student Writing Award, Narrative
Intellectual Property Audit:
Purdue University Libraries
Kylista Geiger
Veronica Johnson
Angela White Badgett

STUDENT TRAVEL AWARD
Danae Dracht

H.W. WILSON ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP
Amanda Gantchev
Shonee Hightower
Benjamin Knight
Nicole Williams

STUDENT OFFICERS

American Library Association Amanda Gantchev, President Rachel Segall, Vice President Amber Farrell, Secretary Zandria Robins, Treasurer Wesleyann Johnson, Webmaster Lisa Kelsay, Distance Liaison

Aspiring Youth and School Librarians
Maeve Devlin, President
Lauren Catoni, Vice President
Wesleyann Johnson, Secretary
Roxanne Brazell, Webmaster
Susan Gotthelf, Distance Liaison
Emily Brush, Outreach Coordinator

FUTURE LIBRARIANS FOR INCLUSIVITY AND DIVERSITY Marna Clowney-Robinson, President Nakenya Lewis-Yarbrough, Vice President Lauren Catoni, Treasurer

Lauren Catoni, *Treasurer*Akiema Buchannon, *Secretary*Tracey Walker, *Social Media Specialist*

National Digital Stewardship Alliance Margie Wade, President Sandi Svoboda, Vice President Roxanne Brazell, Secretary Veronica Johnson, Communications Chair Roxanne Brazell, Research Chair Mike Dutkewych, Digital Liaison

Society of American Archivists
Mark Prindiville, President
Kristin Kniffen, Vice President
Nichole Manlove, Secretary
Julia Westblade, Social Media Manager
Mike Dutkewych, Webmaster/Digital Liaison

Student Organizations in LIS (SOLIS) Nakenya Lewis, *President*

PATRICIA B. KNAPP AWARD

Adam Mosseri, MLIS , GCAA '15

The Patricia B. Knapp Award was established by the then Division of Library Science at Wayne State University in 1973 in memory of Professor Knapp. The Award is granted each year to a graduating MLIS student who, in the estimation of the Faculty of Library and Information Science, represents those professional qualities which Professor Knapp exemplified so admirably.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARD

Ronald E. Wheeler, Jr.

Director, Fineman and Pappas Law Libraries
Associate Professor, Boston University
School of Law

Ronald E. Wheeler, Jr. is currently director of the Fineman and Pappas Law Libraries and associate professor of law and legal research at Boston University School of Law. Wheeler is also the current president of AALL, the American Association of Law Libraries. Prior to his appointment at Boston University, Wheeler held law library director positions at Suffolk University and the University of San Francisco and law librarian positions at Georgia State University and the University of New Mexico. Wheeler holds a JD from the University of Michigan Law School, a master's degree in library and information science from Wayne State University, and a bachelor's degree in business administration from the University of Michigan-Dearborn.

PROFESSIONAL SERVICE AWARD

Frances Moore Runnells Hotchkiss Youth Services Department Manager Brandon Township Public Library

Frances Moore Runnells Hotchkiss has been working full time at the Brandon Township Public Library in Ortonville, Michigan for 37 years as the Youth Services Department Manager. She became a paid employee at the age of 14, at which time she started doing children's story time programs. She knew at that early age that this was her calling. She adores children and wanted to foster their love for reading. Not only has she shared her education and talents with her local community, she has also gone far above and beyond by sharing her successful literary ideas and programs. She holds a bachelor's degree in applied sciences from the University of Michigan-Flint and a master's degree in library and information science from Wayne State University.



CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR AWARD RECIPIENTS AND GRADUATES!

SLIS FACULTY

Sandra Yee, Dean
Stephen Bajjaly, Associate Dean and Professor
Hermina Anghelescu, Associate Professor
Joan Beaudoin, Associate Professor
Timothy Bowman, Assistant Professor
Deborah Charbonneau, Assistant Professor
Peter Hook, Assistant Professor
Kafi Kumasi, Associate Professor
Bin Li, Senior Lecturer
Gordon Neavill, Associate Professor
Kimberly Schroeder, Lecturer
Dian Walster, Professor
Xiangmin Zhang, Assistant Professor

SLIS STAFF

Jennifer Bondy, Academic Services Officer Megen Rehahn Drulia, Academic Services Officer Matthew Fredericks, Academic Services Officer Llauna Parker, Coordinator